As part of the unveiling of the Summer in the City 2016 programme, the Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) has announced guided tours of the Grand Ducal Palace, starting from 16 June 2016.

The summer tours will be a chance to learn how the rulers of Luxembourg live and work, what daily life is like in the palace, in which room official receptions are held and what works of art can be found inside.

Equally a symbol of national independence, an element of continuity throughout centuries of foreign domination and an attractive monument which houses the Grand Duke, the Palace brings over 8,000 visitors annually to explore its 16th century façade and majestic interior.

However, this building has undergone several major changes over the course of history. The edifice was constructed between 1572 and 1574 to function as a city hall, before becoming a prefecture and then a seat of government. In 1890, the former city hall was transformed by the State architect Charles Arendt and Brussels architect Gédéon Bordiau.

Since 1890, the date of the accession of Grand Duke Adolphe, the palace became a sovereign residence. It was restored in 1995, and has become one of the main attractions of the capital since opening its doors to tour guides in 1977.

The tour will also feature the photographic exhibition "The Dynasty Luxembourg-Nassau" by Marc Schoentgen, comprising old photographs of the Grand Ducal Palace, Berg Castle, Weilburg, Wiesbaden, as well as various Grand Ducal institutions, areas, and administrations. Pierre Even has provided detailed text and information to accompany the photos.

The next Changing the Guard ceremonies will take place at 16:00 on 22 June, 9 July and 10 September 2016.

Guided tours will be provided every day between 16 July and 4 September 2016, except for Wednesdays, at 15:30 in English.

 

Photo by Ex13