On Tuesday 11 July 2017, Clausen’s Parc Mansfeld was opened to celebrate the occasion of the 500th anniversary of Count Pierre-Ernest de Mansfeld.

The opening of the new park took place during celebrations in Clausen in the presence of the College of Mayor and Aldermen and the Secretary of State for Culture, Guy Arendt. This opening celebrates the 500th anniversary of Count Pierre-Ernest de Mansfeld (1517-1604), governor of the Duchy of Luxembourg for almost 60 years and owner of an illustrious Renaissance estate in the heart of Clausen.

In order to protect the historical and cultural heritage of the capital, the Ville de Luxembourg (VdL) carried out the acquisition of the Mansfeld estate in 1987 and 2002, and between 2003 and 2007 archaeological excavations were carried out by the National Centre Of archaeological research in the framework of the construction project of the Clausen Central School. These excavations made it possible to uncover the 16th century remains of the La Fontaine castle belonging to the count de Mansfeld, namely the Neptune basin, the artificial cave, the Fountain of Saint Peter and the Fountain of Venus.

The VdL’s renovation project of the area, including the park area, began in 2015. Initially, the provision of temporary roads and the securing of the park by fencing has enabled the site to be opened to the public. The second phase will involve an in-depth study of the site's historical heritage (park and castle), leading to a comprehensive project integrating current needs and outstanding historical values. The third phase will involve the implementation of the project.

To date, work has focused on the emergency consolidation of the Fischer House, the repair of the archaeological shelter, the installation of a visitor platform, the provisional layout of the park and a precise survey of the buildings.

The renovation project was carried out by a working group bringing together various departments of the city, as well as representatives of the National Museums and Sites Service, the CNRA (National Archaeological Research Centre) and the Friends of the Castle of Mansfeld.

Whilst further development takes place, the part of the Mansfeld gardens situated between Place Sainte-Cunégonde and rue de Clausen will be open to the public over summer from 1 April -  30 September from 07:00 to 22:00,and then at reduced hours 1 - 31 October from 07:30 to 20:00, 1 November - 28 February from 07:30 to 18:00, and 1 - 31 March from 07:30 to 20:00.

Photo by VdL