On Saturday 20 April 2024, Luxembourg's men's senior rugby team secured a comprehensive home win over Slovenia in Pool B of Rugby Europe's Men's Conference 2023/24.

Played at the Stade de Luxembourg, the national football and rugby stadium, with a 17:50 kick-off, the home side ran out 84-7 winners, ensuring their unbeaten record of four wins out of four and top of Pool B; Luxembourg are now assured a place in the Conference Promotion final (against Pool C winners, with Moldova and Bulgaria playing for top spot on 4 May) where they would have an opportunity to break into Europe's Top 20.

The match followed Luxembourg's impressive 18-15 away win over Hungary on 6 April, a match in which they came from behind to take the points; last autumn, they also defeated Austria at home and Bosnia-Herzegovina away. While Slovenia had also defeated Bosnia-Herzegovina (at home) and Hungary (away), they had lost to Austria at home.

The home side dominated possession and territory, converting their advantage in both areas onto the scoreboard. Luxembourg amassed a total of fourteen tries (seven converted) to their opponent's solitary one (converted). Back-row Josselin Gaspalou got the first score of the game, a try from a well-worked set piece. The visitors tried to find a way through Luxembourg's defence, but lost possession with winger Luca Zanette Mansell getting the game's second try.

Slovenia managed to breach the home side's defence and touched town to reduce the deficit to 12-7; this was to be their last score of the game as Luxembourg responded with their third try courtesy of out-half Fintan Lawlor, and Josselin Gaspalou getting his second and Luxembourg's fourth, with centre Liam Carroll, centre Christian Olsen and winger Luca Zanette Mansell (his second) to set up a formidable 43-7 half-time lead.

Luxembourg added another seven tries, without reply, in the second half, courtesy of second-rows Guillaume Thevenaut and Noé Tropiano, centre Christian Olsen, winger Luca Zanette Mansell (his third). As Luxembourg started to empty the replacements bench, two of the newcomers, full-back Matteo Franzina and out-half Hugo Bertani, got on the scoreboard, with captain Christian Olsen getting the last try of the game for his hat-trick.


1. Anthony Rossi (CS Puy Guillaume Rugby)
2. Quentin Dee (RC Walferdange)
3. Thibault Tomasetto (RC Metz Moselle)
4. Guillaume Thevenot (Paris Université Club)
5. Stefan Schaap (RC Walferdange)
6. Guillaume Kimmel (RC Metz Moselle)
7. Noé Tropiano (RC Luxembourg)
8. Josselin Gaspalou (RC Walferdange)
9. Adrian Mendez (RC Walferdange)
10. Fintan Lawlor (RC Jacou Montpellier Nord)
11. Luca Zanette Mansell (RC Luxembourg)
12. Liam Carroll (Sterling RFC)
13. Christian Olsen (captain) (RC Luxembourg)
14. John Fitzpatrick (Glasgow URFC)
15. Yared Ketema (RC Luxembourg)

16. Matthew Dennis-Soto (RC Luxembourg)
17. Denis Logelin (RC Luxembourg)
18. Filipe Madureira Campos (RC Walferdange)
19. Ruben Albstmeijer (AAC Amsterdam Rugby)
20. Edward Graybrook (RC Luxembourg)
21. Lucas Schmitt (RK Heusenstamm)
22. Hugo Bertani (Aix Université Club)
23. Matteo Franzina (RC Luxembourg)

Head Coach: Alexandre Benedetti