Luxembourg's government, 2018-; Credit: Emmanuel Claude, copyright SIP

Today, Wednesday 5 December 2018, Luxembourg's Prime Minister Xavier Bettel (DP) unveiled the Grand Duchy's new government which comprises a total of 17 ministers, of which five are first-time ministers and five are female, with two Deputy Prime Ministers, Etienne Schneider (LSAP) and Félix Braz (dei Greng), and without any Secretaries of State.

Those losing out include Lydia Mutsch, who held the health portfolio in the former coalition government, with Etienne Schneider taking that portfolio over in addition to that of the Economy; Nicolas Schmidt, who held the Labour portfolio and who is tipped to be nominated as Luxembourg next EU Commissioner.

There are changes too to various ministries, e.g. there is a new Ministry of Digitilisation (Minister: Xavier Bettel), the Ministry of the Middle Classes has made a return (Lex Delles comes in to head up this ministry which had been merged into the previous government's Ministry of the Economy - it deals primarily with the trades).

The two education portfolios are again grouped together, with Claude Meisch taking over the reins here from Dan Kersch (who takes over Labour) and Sport from Romain Schneider. Félix Braz (Justice), Jean Asselborn (Foreign Affairs), Pierre Gramegna (Finance) and Romain Schneider (Agriculture) retain their portfolios, with a brand new Ministry of Spatial Planning, Minister of Energy (Claude Turmes), Tourism gets its own Ministry (Lex Delles), the Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructures is re-branded the Ministry of Mobility and Public Works.

New government
- Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister, Minister of State, Minister of Communications and Media, Minister of Religion, Minister of Digitalisation, Minister of Administrative Reform
- Etienne Schneider, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of the Economy, Minister of Health
- Félix Braz, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Justice
- Pierre Gramegna, Minister of Finance
- Jean Asselborn, Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, Minister of Immigration and Asylum
- Claude Meisch, Minister of National Education, Childhood and Youth, Minister of Higher Education and Research
- Marc Hansen, Minister of the Public Service, Minister for Relations with Parliament, Minister Delegate for Digitalisation, Minister Delegate for Administrative Reform
- Romain Schneider, Minister of Agriculture, Viticulture and Rural Development, Minister of Social Security
- Corinne Cahen, Minister of Family and Integration, Minister for the Greater Region
- François Bausch, Minister of Defense, Minister of Mobility and Public Works, Minister of the Interior
- Dan Kersch, Minister of Sports, Minister of Labour, Employment and Social and Solidarity Economy
- Lex Delles, Minister of the Middle Classes, Minister of Tourism
- Sam Tanson, Minister of Culture, Minister of Housing
- Claude Turmes, Minister of Spatial Planning, Minister of Energy
- Carole Dieschbourg, Minister of the Environment, Climate and Sustainable Development
- Paulette Lenert, Minister of Cooperation and Humanitarian Action, Minister of Consumer Protection
- Taina Bofferding, Minister for Equality between Women and Men, Minister of the Interior