Following this morning's meeting of the cabinet of the Luxembourg's government, the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs announced a series of temporary immigration restrictions concerning non-essential travel to the EU and the possible lifting of the restrictions of 30 July 2020.

The list of third countries whose residents should not be affected by a temporary restriction at the external borders of non-essential travel to the EU is therefore updated by removing, with effect from 8 August 2020, Algeria from the list. Third-country nationals having their residence in Algeria will therefore no longer be authorised to enter the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg from tomorrow, 8 August 2020.

The updated list of third countries whose residents are authorised to enter Luxembourg is therefore now as follows:
• Australia
• Canada
• China (subject to reciprocity at European Union level)
• Georgia
• Japan
• Morocco
• New Zealand
• Rwanda
• South Korea
• Thailand
• Tunisia
• Uruguay

Temporary restrictions for other third-country nationals remain in place until 15 September 2020, inclusive.

Given the epidemiological evolution of the COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2) virus on a global scale and in order to limit its spread and import through the Schengen area, additional health measures at the external air border of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg have just been issued and shall be introduced from 12 August 2020. Any third-country national aged 11 or over, including persons holding a temporary residence permit or a residence permit, wishing to travel by air to their destination of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg from a third country not appearing on this list of third countries, must present (before boarding) the negative result of a biological examination looking for the viral RNA of SARS-CoV-2 carried out less than 48 hours before the flight.

Family members of a citizen of the European Union, the United Kingdom, San Marino, Andorra, Monaco and the Vatican / Holy See, as well as other States party to the Agreement on the The European Economic Area and Switzerland having a right of residence in one of these countries are not affected by this measure.