Credit: Jazmin Campbell /

On Friday 17 November 2023, the Grand Duke of Luxembourg swore in the new CSV-DP coalition government, which is headed by Prime Minister Luc Frieden.

The official swearing-in ceremony took place at the Grand Ducal Palace in Luxembourg-Ville on Friday morning, in the presence of members of the press. Grand Duke Henri signed the relevant Grand Ducal decrees for the formation of the new government before inviting the new prime minister, deputy prime minister and other government members successively to take the oath. The Grand Duke later congratulated each minister individually.

Following the swearing-in, the traditional "passation des pouvoirs" (handover of power) is taking place between the outgoing and incoming government ministers throughout the day.

The swearing-in of the new government followed the signing of the government coalition agreement between the Christian Social People's Party (CSV) and the Democratic Party (DP) on Thursday 16 November 2023.

The new government is composed of fifteen ministers (eight from the CSV and seven from the DP), down from the seventeen DP-LSAP-Green ministers who were sworn in back in 2018. However, there were also fifteen government ministers the last time the CSV was in power (CSV-LSAP coalition, 2009-2013), at that time under the premiership of Jean-Claude Juncker - with Luc Frieden serving as finance minister.

For the 2023-28 government, headed by Luc Frieden (CSV), former prime minister Xavier Bettel (DP) has been appointed Luxembourg’s Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, a role previously held by Jean Asselborn (LSAP); his new role also covers cooperation, foreign trade and the Greater Region. The CSV has taken back Finance, with former mayor Gilles Roth taking over as Minister of Finance from DP's Yuriko Backes. For her part, Yuriko Backes is taking over from François Bausch (Greens) as Minister of Defence and Minister of Mobility and Public Works, as well as from Taina Bofferding (LSAP) as Minister of Gender Equality.

The DP's Lex Delles has taken over from former Minister of the Economy Franz Fayot (LSAP); Mr Delles retains his tourism and SMEs portfolio but is also assuming the role of Minister of Energy (replacing the Greens' Claude Turmes). Martine Hansen (CSV) has been sworn in as Minister of Agriculture, Food and Viticulture (taking over from the LSAP's Claude Haagen), as well as assuming responsibility for consumer protection. DP's Claude Meisch retains his post as Minister of Education, Children and Youth but also takes over from Henri Kox (Greens) as Minister of Housing. Max Hahn (DP), who succeeded Corinne Cahen in June 2023 (after the latter was elected as a municipal alderwoman), remains Minister for Family Affairs but his role also covers solidarity, "living together" and reception.

CSV's Martine Deprez takes over from Paulette Lenert as Minister of Health and Social Security, whilst former mayor Léon Gloden (also CSV) assumes the role of Minister of Home Affairs (replacing Taina Bofferding) and for the Police (replacing Henri Kox). DP’s Stéphanie Obertin is taking over from Claude Meisch as Minister of Higher Education and Research, as well as Minister for Digitalisation. Former mayor Georges Mischo (CSV) is assuming the roles of Minister of Labour and of Sports (replacing the LSAP's Georges Engel); former municipal alderman Serge Wilmes (CSV) is now Minister of the Environment, Climate and Biodiversity (taking over from the Greens' Joëlle Welfring) and for the Civil Service (replacing the DP's Marc Hansen).

For her part, Elisabeth Margue (CSV) has been sworn in as Minister of Justice (taking over from the Greens’ Sam Tanson), as well as Minister Delegate for Media and Communications, Minister Delegate to the Prime Minister and head of Relations with Parliament. Former mayor Eric Thill (DP) is the new Minister of Culture (replacing Sam Tanson) and Minister Delegate for Tourism.

Luc Frieden, Prime Minister of Luxembourg (Credit: Jazmin Campbell /