L-R: Guy Daleiden, Director of Film Fund Luxembourg; Yann Tonnar, President of D'Filmakademie; Credit: Romain Girtgen / CNA

Film Fund Luxembourg and D'Filmakademie have announced the launch of this year's Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis (Luxembourg Film Prize). 

Guy Daleiden, Director of Film Fund Luxembourg, and Yann Tonnar, President of D'Filmakademie, officially launched the 9th edition of the Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis this week. 

For this 2021 edition, D'Filmakademie (in charge of organising the vote) has introduced several new features, including the introduction of a two-round voting system and new prize categories. Regarding the former, the academy's 400 members voted on the eligible productions in the first round, which determined the nominations in the different prize categories.

After the first round closed on 15 October 2021, members of D'Filmakademie now have until midnight on 19 November 2021 for the second round in order to determine the winner in each of the thirteen categories.

The results will be announced on 26 November 2021 during the presentation of the trophies, which were created in 2003 by Luxembourgish artist Patricia Lippert.


Prize for Best Luxembourgish Feature Film or Animated Feature Film: Escapada by Sarah Hirtt; Hytte by Jean-Louis Schuller; Peitruss by Max Jacoby; Sawah by Adolf El Assal; Superjhemp retörns by Félix Koch

Prize for Best Feature Film or Documentary Co-Production: Bad Luck Banging or Loony Porn by Radu Jude; Collective by Alexander Nanau; Deux by Filippo Meneghetti; Jumbo by Zoé Wittock; Tel Aviv on Fire by Sameh Zoabi

Prize for Best Animated Feature Film Co-ProductionLes Hirondelles de Kaboul by Eléa Gobbé-Mévellec and Zabou Breitman; Pachamama by Juan Antin; Wolfwalkers by Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart

Prize for Best Short Fiction Film or DocumentaryDaca ne desteptam (If We Smarten Up) by Larisa Faber; Lupus by Laurent Prim; Portraitiste by Cyrus Neshvad; Touch Me (Was bleibt) by Eileen Byrne; Vis-à-Vis by Émile V. Schlesser

Prize for Best Animated Short FilmAbigail by Nicolas Debray; Mania by Ugur Darya Eroglu; Seed of Hope by Claude Kongs

Prize for Best Feature-Length DocumentaryAn Zéro - Comment le Luxembourg a disparu by Myriam T. and Julien Becker; California Dreaming by Fabrizio Maltese; Histoire(s) de Femme(s) by Anne Schroeder; River Tales by Julie Schroell; The Living Witnesses by Karolina Markiewicz and Pascal Piron; Zero Impunity by Stéphane Hueber-Blies and Nicolas Blies 

Prize for Best TV and New Media Production (Fiction or Documentary)Bad Banks - Season 2 by Christian Zübert; Capitani by Christophe Wagner and Thierry Faber; Ex Aequo! by Lucia Valverde and Julie Schroell, among others ; Routwäissgro - Season 3 by Loïc Tanson and Jacques Molitor, among others; What We Talk About When We Talk About Sex by Catherine Dauphin

Prize for Best Animated TV and New Media ProductionBarababor by Laurent Witz; Fox & Hare by Mascha Halberstad and Tom van Gestel; Nächst Statioun by Sarah Sutter and Frédéric Wedeux

Prize for Best ActressFabienne Hollwege as Sonia in An Zéro - Comment le Luxembourg a disparu; Larisa Faber as Madeleine in Angelo; Désirée Nosbusch as Christelle Leblanc in Bad Banks - Season 2; Sophie Mousel as Elsa Ley in Capitani; Magaly Teixeira as Dona in Coyotes

Prize for Best ActorLuc Schiltz as Luc Capitani in Capitani; Jules Werner as Mick Engel in Capitani; Jérôme Varanfrain as Frédéric in Deux; Nilton Martins as Miguel in Sawah; André Jung as Charel Kuddel in Superjhemp Retörns

Prize for Best Creative Contribution in a Work of Fiction or DocumentaryThierry Faber, Eric Lamhène & Christophe Wagner in the screenplay category (Capitani); Jean Louis Schuller in the picture category (Hytte); Nikos Welter in the picture category (Sawah); Adolf El Assal in the screenplay category (Sawah); Amandine Klee in the picture category (Skin Walker)

Prize for Best Creative Contribution in an Animated WorkStéphane Lecocq in the setting category (Ooops! 2); Julien Silvestre Da Conceicao in the composition category (Ooops! 2); Michel Pisson in the setting category (Pachamama); Nicolas Debray, Gilles Rudziak & team in the animation category (Wolfwalkers); Pascal Gérard & team in the setting category (Wolfwalkers)

Prize for Best MusicKyan Bayani in Bad Banks - Season 2; Emre Sevindik in California Dreaming; Ivan Boumans in Hytte; Eric Bintz in Sawah; André Dziezuk in Tel Aviv on Fire

Prize for Best XR Work7 Lives by Jan Kounen; Ayahuasca by Jan Kounen; Cosmos Within Us by Tupac Martir; My Indentity Is This Expanse! by Karolina Markiewicz and Pascal Piron; Under the Skin by João Inada

The awards ceremony will take place on Friday 26 November 2021, for the third time at the Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg. The ceremony will be broadcast live for the first time to the public on several platforms.

Further information is available on the new website: www.filmprais.lu.