Stage 3 of 2022 Skoda Tour de Luxembourg, Diekirch, 15 September 2022; Credit: Ben Felgen

Danish cyclist Mattias Skjelmose Jensen, who currently rides for UCI WorldTeam Trek - Segafredo, has won the 2022 Skoda Tour de Luxembourg; Kévin Geniets (Groupama - FDJ) secured the highest overall position among the Luxembourgish riders.

Whilst France's Valentin Madouas (Groupama - FDJ) won the fifth and final stage of the cycling event on Saturday 17 September 2022, it was overall race leader Mattias Skjelmose Jensen who secured this year's Skoda Tour de Luxembourg title.

Madouas had held onto the yellow jersey in stages one to three before Skjelmose Jensen won the time trial in the fourth stage and took the overall lead.

The final stage took the riders from Mersch to the finish line in front of Hall Victor Hugo in Luxembourg-Limpertsberg (a distance of 178.4 km) on Saturday. Madouas secured the stage victory, crossing the finish line with a time of four hours 36 minutes and eight seconds, followed closely behind by Skjelmose Jensen. Kévin Geniets finished the final stage in fourth place - the highest ranking among Luxembourgish cyclists.

Overall, 21-year-old Mattias Skjelmose Jensen finished the 2022 Skoda Tour de Luxembourg in first place, followed by French cyclists Kévin Vauquelin (Team Arkea - Samsic) and Valentin Madouas in second and third place, respectively. The Netherlands' Sjoerd Bax (Alpecin-Deceuninck) finished the race in fourth place, with Kévin Geniets (Groupama - FDJ) securing the best result among Luxembourgish cyclists, finishing fifth overall.

Stage 5 results

1. Valentin Madouas (France; Groupama - FDJ), 04:36:08
2. Mattias Skjelmose Jensen (Denmark; Trek - Segafredo), + 00:00
3. Kévin Vauquelin (France; Team Arkea - Samsic), + 00:00
4. Kévin Geniets (Luxembourg; Groupama - FDJ), + 00:00
5. Matteo Trentin (Italy; UAE Team Emirates), + 00:03

General classification

1. Mattias Skjelmose Jensen (Denmark; Trek - Segafredo), 17:43:29
2. Kévin Vauquelin (France; Team Arkea - Samsic), + 00:05
3. Valentin Madouas (France; Groupama - FDJ), + 00:17
4. Sjoerd Bax (Netherlands; Alpecin-Deceuninck), + 00:23
5. Kévin Geniets (Luxembourg; Groupama - FDJ), + 00:31