2022 Skoda de Luxembourg riders pass through Junglinster in Stage 2; Credit: Jazmin Campbell / Chronicle.lu

Italian professional road cyclist Matteo Trentin sprinted to victory in the second stage of the Skoda Tour de Luxembourg on Wednesday 14 September 2022.

Stage 2 of this professional cycling event, which is taking place across Luxembourg from 13 to 17 September 2022, saw 111 professional cyclists from around the world (nineteen teams in total) ride from the town hall in Junglinster (central Luxembourg) to Schifflange (south-western Luxembourg) via the Mullerthal region, covering a total distance of 163.4 km.

Ultimately, it was Matteo Trentin of UAE Team Emirates who first crossed the finish line, having completed the race in three hours, 51 minutes and 51 seconds. He was followed closely behind by French cyclist Florian Sénéchal and fellow Italian cyclist Davide Ballerini (both Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team). 

Stage 1 winner Valentin Madouas (France; Groupama-FDJ) held onto the overall lead by seven seconds, ahead of Sjoerd Bax (Netherlands; Alpecin-Deceuninck) and Matteo Trentin, whose bonus seconds took him to third place in the general classification.

Colin Heiderscheid finished in 15th place - the best result for Luxembourgish riders in this stage.

Spanish cyclist Joel Nicolau Beltrán (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) topped the best climber classification (13 points), while French rider Bastien Tronchon (AG2R Citroën U23 Team) was named best young rider (with an overall time of 07:52:15).

The third and longest stage (188.4 km) of the 2022 Skoda Tour de Luxembourg will take the riders from Rosport to the finish line near the football stadium in Diekirch on Thursday 15 September 2022.

Stage 2 results

1. Matteo Trentin (Italy; UAE Team Emirates), 03:51:51
2. Florian Sénéchal (France; Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), + 00:00
3. Davide Ballerini (Italy; Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), + 00:00
4. Axel Laurance (France; B&B Hotels-KTM), + 00:00

General classification

1. Valentin Madouas (France; Groupama - FDJ), 07:52:06
2. Sjoerd Bax (Netherlands; Alpecin-Deceuninck), + 00:07
3. Matteo Trentin (Italy; UAE Team Emirates), + 00:08
4. Bastien Tronchon (France; AG2R Citroën U23 Team), + 00:09