Jury members; Credit: Olivier Minaire

The Luxembourg Center for Architecture (LUCA) yesterday announced the winners of the 8th edition of its Luxembourg Architecture Award (LAA) at the LAA award ceremony at BGL BNP Paribas.

Over 400 people attended the 2019 LAA award ceremony, during which the winners nominated by the jury and the public, as well as the winner of the Honorary Prize, were unveiled.

After receiving 173 projects from more than 70 offices during the call for projects, the seven members of the international jury met in early November to choose the nominees and the winners from the five categories of the LAA: residential architecture, non-residential architecture, interior architecture, landscape architecture and outdoor / public spaces, art works and structures. The jury highlighted the quality of the submitted projects by choosing 44 nominees.

Residential Architecture: 48 submitted projects, nine nominated projects, three mentions, one winner

The winner of the residential architecture category was the social / intergenerational housing project by Arlette Schneiders Architectes.

Non-residential Architecture: 58 projects submitted, nine nominated projects, two mentions, one winner

The winner of the non-residential architecture category was "Maison (jeune) peuple) by the 2001 office.

Interior Architecture: 36 submitted projects, seven nominated projects, two mentions

Art Works & Structures: fifteen projects submitted, ten nominated projects, two mentions, one winner

The winner of the art works and  Structures category was "Passerelle Pont Adolphe" by CBA Christian Bauer & Associés Architectes.

Landscape Architecture & Outdoor / Public Spaces: sixteen projects submitted, nine nominated projects, one mention, one special jury prize, one winner

The winner of the landscape architecture and outdoor / public spaces category was Tramway: Luxexpo - Place de l'Etoile, the temporary association Etram (Egis, Paul Wurth SA, Felgen and Associés Engineering SA, Beng Architectes Associés, Villes & Paysages workshop, Luxplan SA).

As seen above, the jury decided to consider two achievements as one achievement in two categories.

Bringing together a panel of architects, engineers, teachers and European cultural figures the jury was composed of: Suzanne Cotter (Luxembourg), director of MUDAM; Rolo Fütterer (Luxembourg), architect and professor at the Hochschule Kaiserslautern; Pierre Hebbelinck (Belgium), architect; Florian Hertweck (Luxembourg), architect and director of the Master in Architecture at the University of Luxembourg; Caroline Leloup (France), architect and president of the Maison de l'Architecture de Lorraine; Tivadar Puskas (Czech Republic), engineer; Andrea Wandel (Germany), architect, town planner and professor at the Hochschule Trier.

Audience Award & Public Vote

The Audience Award was awarded to the Luxembourg Learning Centre of the VALENTINY hvp architects office after a public vote which was held from 15 November to 7 December 2019. The project received 602 votes. The public could vote for only one of the 44 projects nominated by the jury on the LAA website. More than 5,760 voters determined the winner of the Audience Award for double the number of votes compared to the previous edition of 2015. The result was very close.

Honorary Award

The Honorary Award was awarded to the First Housing Cooperative in Luxembourg by ADHOC Habitat participatif s.c. A. With this award, LUCA highlighted the pioneering nature of this initiative in Luxembourg, which promotes a new way of living together that is important for building culture.