Luxembourg's  Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs has announced the launch of the procedure for issuing new residence permits to British nationals following the withdrawal of the United Kingdom (UK) from the European Union (EU).

Brexit came into effect on 1 February 2020, under the cover of the provisions of the Withdrawal Agreement between the UK and the EU. Under this agreement, British nationals and members of their families residing in Luxembourg retain their right of residence after the end of the transition period on 31 December  2020

In order to assert the rights arising from the Withdrawal Agreement, the individuals concerned must possess a new residence permit which attests to their status as beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement which will replace their current residence document. To this end, they should submit a request for issuance for this new document between 1 January and 30 June 2021. 

Those concerned can already submit their request during the transition period, with applications being accepted from today, 1 July 2020.

More information on the replacement procedure is available on