On Wednesday 20 June 2018, d'Film Akademie - Luxembourg's Film Academy - announced the nominations for the 8th edition of the Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis (Luxembourg Film Prize) being held on Saturday 22 September 2018 in the Grand Theatre at 20:00.

The Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis is held every two years in the Grand Duchy. This year, 7 feature films from Luxembourg, 10 co-produced feature films, 3 animated feature films, 10 documentaries, 10 short fiction films and 7 TV and new media productions will be in the running to win a trophy.

Some new features for this 8th edition include the creation of a special prize for the best TV series and new media, a prize for the best creative contribution in a feature film or a prize for the best performance.

The Luxembourg Film Academy was founded in December 2012 by the film technicians' associations (ALTA), the directors and writers association (LARS), actors(ACTORS.LU) and producers (ULPA). The Filmakademie's mission is also to serve as a launching pad for audiovisual creation, with the cooperation of the Film Fund Luxembourg, the National Audiovisual Center (CNA), the Luxembourg Federation of Authors and Composers (FLAC), the Federation of the professions of animation and the virtual image (FMAIV) who have since joined the board of directors of the academy.

Venue: Grand Theatre, Luxembourg-Limpersberg

Organiser: d'Film Akademie - Luxembourg's Film Academy

Price: tbc

Reservations: tbc