Luxembourg's Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs has announced changes to the list of third countries whose nationals are not permitted to enter the Grand Duchy in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Foreign Ministry has acted on European Council recommendations (EU) 2021/1782 of 29 October 2021 and 2021/1945 of 9 November 2021 amending recommendation (EU) 2020/912 concerning the temporary restriction of non-essential travel to the European Union (EU) and the possible lifting of this restriction.

From Monday 22 November 2021, third-country nationals residing in Singapore or Ukraine are no longer authorised to enter Luxembourg for non-essential travel.

At the same time, third-country nationals having their residence in Argentina, Colombia, Namibia or Peru are once again allowed to enter the Grand Duchy, including for non-essential travel.

Proof of residence remains the responsibility of the third-country national.

The updated list of third countries (as well as special administrative regions of China and entities and territorial authorities not recognised as states by at least one EU Member State) whose residents are not affected by temporary entry restrictions now looks as follows: Argentina; Australia; Bahrain; Canada; Chile; China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity at EU level); Colombia; Hong Kong; Jordan; Kuwait; Macau; Namibia; New Zealand; Peru; Qatar; Rwanda; Saudi Arabia; South Korea; Taiwan; United Arab Emirates; Uruguay.

Third-country nationals residing in a country which does not appear on the aforementioned list are not authorised to enter the Grand Duchy, with the exception of those with a certificate proving full vaccination against COVID-19 considered as equivalent in Luxembourg.

Along with vaccination certificates issued by member states of the EU or the Schengen Area, Luxembourg currently recognises certificates issued by the following third countries: Albania; Andorra; Armenia; Faroe Islands; Georgia; Israel; Moldova; Monaco; Morocco; North Macedonia; New Zealand; Panama; San Marino; Serbia; Turkey; Ukraine; United Kingdom; United States of America; Vatican City.

Anyone, regardless of nationality or place of residence, holding a vaccination certificate issued by one of the aforementioned states can use their certificate to meet the additional health measures applicable for all travel by air transport to Luxembourg.

Nationals of third countries not included on the aforementioned list are authorised to enter the Grand Duchy if their trip is considered essential. To this end, an express request for a special certificate should be sent to the Passport, Visa and Legalisation Office via email:

Details of the applicable rules are available at: