The Embassy of Ireland in Luxembourg has confirmed the introduction of new rules on international travel in Ireland.

From Monday 19 July 2021, it will be possible to travel to Ireland from countries within the European Union (EU) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA; i.e. Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland), with no requirement to quarantine provided arrivals have valid proof of being fully vaccinated, having recovered from COVID-19 or have had a negative PCR test not more than 72 hours prior to arrival.

Travellers coming from other countries, including Great Britain, will not have to quarantine if they have valid proof that they are fully vaccinated or have recovered from the virus. Those who travel on the basis of a negative PCR test will have to self-quarantine for fourteen days; this can be ended if they receive a second negative PCR test taken from day 5 onwards.

Passengers arriving into or returning to Ireland must fill out a Passenger Locator Form before departure.

From 19 July, children between the ages of 12 and 17 will be required to have a negative RT-PCR test taken within 72 hours prior to arrival into the country, unless they have valid proof of vaccination or recovery. Children of any age, travelling with accompanying vaccinated or recovered adults will not be required to self-quarantine post arrival. However, where one accompanying adult needs to self-quarantine, then all children must also self-quarantine.

The Irish Embassy noted that, due to the ongoing pandemic and in particular the prevalence of the Delta variant (B.1.617.2), travel rules are subject to change at very short notice. As such, anyone planning to travel should check the entry rules of their destination.

As of Monday, Ireland is operating the EU Digital Covid Certificate. The certificate is not a pre-requisite for travelling but does serve as valid proof of vaccination, recovery from the virus or a negative test result. 

Full details on international travel to / from Ireland are available at