(L-R) Jean-Claude Juncker, honorary minister of state; Jacques Santer, honorary minister of state; Luc Frieden, Prime Minister of Luxembourg; Credit: © SIP / Julien Warnand

On Friday 9 February 2024, Prime Minister Luc Frieden invited Jacques Santer and Jean-Claude Juncker for an exchange of views at Senningen Castle.

The meeting was an opportunity for the current Prime Minister of Luxembourg to discuss Luxembourgish and European political news with honorary ministers of state, Jacques Santer and Jean-Claude Juncker. Both men are former prime ministers of Luxembourg and former presidents of the European Commission.

Jacques Santer served as prime minister of Luxembourg from 1984 to 1995. He was succeeded by Jean-Claude Juncker who assumed the role from 1995 to 2013. Like Prime Minister Frieden, both Mr Santer and Mr Juncker are linked to Luxembourg's Christian Social People's Party (CSV).

Jacques Santer became president of the European Commission in 1995 and held the position until 1999. For his part, Jean-Claude Juncker served as president from 2014 to 2019.