Luxembourg's Ministry of Mobility and Public Works has announced that twelve free mini concerts will be held across the country on Saturday 29 February 2020 to celebrate the introduction of free public transport, which comes into force the following day.

From 1 March 2020, Luxembourg will be offering free public transport to all users throughout the country. Public transport users will no longer need a ticket to travel by bus, tram or train on the territory of the Grand Duchy.

To celebrate this special event, twelve mini concerts are scheduled for the afternoon of 29 February. These will take place on small stages in four train stations: Belval-Université, Luxembourg Gare, Pfaffenthal-Kirchberg and Ettelbruck. Between the concerts, itinerant musical interventions will engage those travelling on trains, trams and buses. For instance, Luxembourg musician Serge Tonnar will be performing in the funicular leading to Kirchberg, whilst local pianist Michel Reis will take the tram to its terminus.

In the evening, all the musicians will come together for an exceptional concert which takes place in an unusual setting: the "Neien Tramsschapp" in Kirchberg. The storage centre is set to transform into two stages for a music festival: a more intimate stage in the “Spigelzelt” marquee installed outside among food trucks, as well as the large “Tramsschapp” stage in the tram storage hall.

Many local artists will offer the public a rich and varied programme throughout the evening: EDSUN, Michel Reis feat. Studnitzky, Nicool, Serge Tonnar, Stayfou and Tuys. There will also be food and drinks available from the food trucks and at the bar.

These celebrations will take place on Saturday 29 February 2020 from 18:00 to 01:00 at the "Neien Tramsschapp" in Kirchberg. Entry is free. 


12:00 - 18:00: Artists perform at Belval-Université, Luxembourg Gare, Pfaffenthal-Kirchberg and Ettelbruck stations and on trains, buses and trams: AEM, Alfalfa, Aamar, Cheak!, MAZ, Oke Khalid, Michel Reis feat. Studnitzky, EDSUN, Nicool, Serge Tonnar, Stayfou and Tuys

18:00: DJ DEE (Tramsschapp stage)

19:15: Michel Reis feat. Studnitzky (Spigelzelt stage)

20:15: EDSUN (Tramsschapp)

21:00: Serge Tonnar (Spigelzelt)

21:45: Tuys (Tramsschapp)

22:30: Nicool (Spigelzelt)

23:15: Stayfou (Tramsschapp)

00:00 - 01:00: DJ Nosi (Tramsschapp)

The tram and the “Neien Tramsschapp” site are accessible to people with reduced mobility. The tram takes visitors directly to the concert site, thanks to an additional stop on the "Neien Tramsschapp" site after the "Luxexpo" terminus. The site will not be accessible by car.