Credit: Kangkan Halder

The 9th edition of the Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis (Luxembourg Film Prize) took place on Friday 26 November 2021 at the Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg.

The awards ceremony, organised by Film Fund Luxembourg and D'Filmakademie, was held in the presence of Their Royal Highnesses the Grand Duke and the Grand Duchess of Luxembourg, Prime Minister and Minister for Communications and Media Xavier Bettel, Minister of Culture Sam Tanson and Luxembourg City Mayor Lydie Polfer.

The Director of Film Fund Luxembourg, Guy Daleiden, and the President of D'Filmakademie, Yann Tonnar, presented the following winners based on the results of the votes of D'Filmakademie members:

  • Prize for Best Music: André Dziezuk for the composition of the soundtrack of Tel Aviv on Fire;
  • Prize for Best Creative Contribution in an Animated Work: Nicolas Debray, Gilles Rudziak and their team for the animation of the feature film Wolfwalkers (Studio 352 / Mélusine Productions);
  • Prize for Best Creative Contribution in a Work of Fiction or Documentary: Thierry Faber, Eric Lamhène and Christophe Wagner for the script of the Capitani series;
  • Prize for Best Actress: Sophie Mousel as Elsa Ley in Capitani;
  • Prize for Best Actor: Luc Schiltz in the role of Luc Capitani in Capitani;
  • Prize for Best Animated TV and New Media Production: Fox and Hare by Mascha Halberstad and Tom van Gestel (Doghouse Films);
  • Prize for Best TV and New Media Production (Fiction or Documentary): Capitani by Christophe Wagner (director) and Thierry Faber (designer) (Samsa Film);
  • Prize for Best Animated Short Film: Seed of Hope by Claude Kongs (Antevita Films);
  • Prize for Best Short Fiction Film or DocumentaryPortraitiste by Cyrus Neshvad (Cynefilms);
  • Prize for Best Animated Feature Film Co-Production: Les Hirondelles de Kaboul by Zabou Breitman and Eléa Gobbé-Mévellec (Melusine Productions);
  • Prize for Best Feature Film or Documentary Co-Production: Collective by Alexander Nanau (Samsa Film);
  • Prize for Best Feature-Length DocumentaryAn Zero - Comment le Luxembourg a disparu by Myriam T. and Julien Becker (Skill Lab);
  • Prize for Best Luxembourgish Feature Film or Animated Feature Film: Superjhemp retörns by Félix Koch (Samsa Film).

In addition to these prizes resulting from the two voting rounds involving members of D'Filmakademie, an ad hoc jury made up of international professionals awarded the Prize for Best XR Work to Ayahuasca by Jan Kounen (co-produced by a_BAHN).

The Luxembourg Critics' Prize, a special press prize awarded by the Luxembourg Association of the Cinematographic Press (ALPC), went to Wolfwalkers by Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart (Mélusine Productions).

This 9th edition of the Luxembourg Film Prize, initially scheduled for autumn 2020, had to be postponed for one year due to the pandemic.

The awards ceremony took place in person in compliance with the health measures in force and was broadcast live for the first time.