On Thursday 7 March 2024, the Embassy of China in Luxembourg confirmed that the Chinese government will implement a 15-day visa-free policy for Luxembourg citizens holding ordinary passports who enter China for business, tourism, family visit and transit purposes.

According to the embassy, the initiative was implemented "in consideration of the friendly relationship and to further promote economic and cultural exchanges between China and Luxembourg, as well as to advance the high-quality development and high-level openness of China".

The policy will commence from 00:00 on 14 March 2024 to 30 November 2024. 

Along with Luxembourg citizens, the citizens of other five European countries, including Switzerland, Ireland, Hungary, Austria and Belgium, which have close economic and trade cooperation with China, can also enjoy the same 15-day visa-free policy.

The establishment of Luxembourg-Zhengzhou-Guangzhou direct passenger flights and the introduction of the visa-free policy are the latest outcome of China-Luxembourg “Air Silk Road” initiative, which the Chinese embassy hopes will enhance the connectivity, friendship and cooperation between the two countries.