Luxembourg's Ministry of Health, together with the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, have confirmed that, given the improvement in the situation of the COVID-19 pandemic at both national and European level, they have adapted new health measures applicable from today, Sunday 13 June 2021, for any travel by air to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Anyone from the age of 6 wishing to travel by air to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg must now present upon boarding:

1. Either a vaccination certificate attesting to a complete vaccination schedule (*) carried out with a vaccine authorised by the European Medicines Agency, i.e. vaccines of AstraZeneca, BioNTech / Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson and Moderna, established by a public or medical authority of a Member State of the European Union or of a Member State of the Schengen Area;

2. Either a certificate of recovery drawn up by a doctor or a national authority of a Member State of the European Union or the Schengen Area for people who have suffered a recent (within the past 6 months) COVID-19 infection and who have completed the isolation period applicable in the respective country with disappearance of all symptoms of infection;

3. Either a negative result (on paper or electronic document) of a nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT) for the detection of the viral RNA of COVID-19 (PCR, TMA or LAMP methods) carried out less than 72 hours before the flight or a rapid SARS-CoV-2 antigen testcarried out less than 48 hours before the flight, by a medical analysis laboratory or any other body authorised for this purpose. A negative result of the intended examination must be presented, if necessary accompanied by a translation, in one of the administrative languages ​​of Luxembourg or in English, Italian, Spanish or Portuguese. 

The system put in place temporarily allows, in addition to the COVID-19 vaccination, recovery and test certificates, established in accordance with the amended law of 17 July 2020 on measures to combat the COVID-19 pandemic, the recognition of vaccination certificates, recovery and COVID-19 test issued by another member state of the European Union or a member state of the Schengen Area, which have not yet been established in accordance with the European regulation on the digital COVID certificate of the EU. During this phase, for example, certificates not yet containing a QR code or proof of vaccinations transcribed in a vaccination record are accepted.

The new obligations applicable to all persons wishing to enter Luxembourg by air transport are in addition to the temporary restrictions already in place for third country nationals for non-essential travel to the EU, which are extended until 30 September 2021 inclusive.

In addition, the government has updated the list of third countries whose residents should not be affected by a temporary restriction at the external borders of non-essential travel to the EU is updated by adding, with effect from 13 June 2021, Israel and Japan. Third-country nationals having their residence in Israel and Japan will therefore again be authorised to enter Luxembourg from 13 June 2021. Proof of residence is the responsibility of the third-country national. The updated list of third countries whose residents are not affected by the temporary restrictions at the external borders of non-essential trips to the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is therefore now as follows: 

• Australia
• China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity at European Union level)
• South Korea
• Israel
• Japan
• New Zealand
• Rwanda
• Singapore
• Thailand
As a reminder that anyone who has stayed in India or the United Kingdom in the 14 days preceding their arrival in Luxembourg must undergo a COVID-19 test as soon as possible (PCR, TMA or LAMP methods) by indicating to the medical laboratory that they stayed in India or the United Kingdom. This obligation applies to anyone who has stayed in India or the United Kingdom in the 14 days preceding their arrival, regardless of the length of stay in India or in the United Kingdom and Luxembourg, and regardless of their means of transport for go to the Grand Duchy. If the person arrives by air in Luxembourg, the test will be performed, free of charge, at the COVID-19 test centre at Luxembourg airport. As soon as they arrive in Grand Duchy, those concerned go into strict quarantine for 7 days with the obligation to undergo a second detection test by amplification of the viral RNA of SARS-CoV-2 (PCR methods, TMA or LAMP) from the 6th day of quarantine. In the event of refusal to submit to the test on arrival or at the end of the 7-day quarantine period, the quarantine will be extended for an additional 7 days, for a total of 14 days. Those concerned are required to declare their presence to the Health Inspectorate (by email: or by phone: 247-65533) which ensures follow-up and reinforced tracing.

The specific regime for the United Kingdom is in place until 30 June 2021, and until 15 July 2021 for India. The list of all the exemptions provided for as well as the exact procedures to be carried out beforehand can be consulted online at: