Yves Even, Partner, Commercial and Private Sector Leader at EY Luxembourg; Michèle Detaille, President of FEDIL and President of the Entrepreneurs of the Year jury; Anne-Sophie Dufresne, Member of the Executive Committee of BGL BNP Paribas; Credit: EY Luxembourg

EY Luxembourg has announced that it is organising the sixth edition of the Entrepreneur of the Year (“Entrepreneurs de l’Année”) competition this year, giving local entrepreneurs the opportunity to showcase their positive impact on the Grad Duchy’s economy, the environment and innovation.

The Entrepreneur of the Year award is open to business leaders who: hold a minimum of 10% stake in a company; run a company established in Luxembourg, which has been in existence for at least three years; have an annual revenue of at least €2.5 million.

Candidates meeting these criteria will be invited to an exchange with professionals from EY Luxembourg, in order to establish a detailed description of their company and to submit an application file to the members of an independent jury.

Any entrepreneur with a sense of strategy and competition, an openness to the world and a sensitivity to environmental, social and governance (ESG) criteria is invited to participate in this competition.

In October 2023, the members of the jury will announce the six finalist entrepreneurs of this sixth edition.

The winner will join the competition’s “gallery of champions”.  The first edition of the competition elected Nicolas Buck of Victor Buck Services SA as Entrepreneur of the Year 2004. In 2006, Abbas Rafii, Director of Ireco SA, became his successor, followed by Jacques Lanners of Ceratizit SA in 2009, René Elvinger of Cebi SA in 2013 and Claude Wagner of Groupe CWA in 2016.

The jury, chaired by Michèle Detaille, President of FEDIL, is composed of the following representatives of the economic world: Claude Wagner, winner of the last edition; Tom Theves, head of the cabinet of Luxembourg’s Minister of the Economy; Carole Muller, President of the Luxembourg Trade Confederation (CLC); Antoine Clasen, President of the Fédération des Jeunes Dirigeants d'Entreprise (FJD; Luxembourg Federation of Young Business Leaders), and Vincent Lekens, President of the ICT Luxembourg alliance.

Candidates have until Wednesday 31 May 2023 to submit their applications. From May to July, EY professionals will conduct interviews with the participants in order to prepare their analysis file which will be submitted to the jury members. After study and deliberation, six finalists will be announced in October 2023. In November 2023, EY Luxembourg will announce the winner during a gala evening.

The winner will also participate in the global competition "World Entrepreneurs of the Year" in June 2024 in Monaco and will have the opportunity to join a community of Luxembourg (EoY Club Entrepreneurs) and international entrepreneurs (Academy of Entrepreneurs, Alumni Roundtable) and participate in dedicated events and conferences.

The EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ programme was created more than 30 years ago and now operates in more than 60 countries and 145 cities worldwide.

"Luxembourg entrepreneurs have created masterpieces that contribute to the growth and competitiveness of our country, building confidence and entrepreneurial drive for current and future generations. In a context where attracting and retaining talent is a challenge for any company, this competition aims not only to reward them, but also to generate pride and commitment among employees! Professionally and personally, I draw great wealth from their day-to-day experience and am proud to be able to share their stories with the general public," commented Yves Even, Partner in charge of Commercial and Industrial Services at EY Luxembourg and leading the Entrepreneur of the Year programme.