Bad Banks; Credit: Iris Productions

Luxembourg production company Irish Productions has confirmed that its TV drama series "Bad Banks" has picked up the Best Picture / Camera prize at the Deutscher Fernsehpreis in Germany.

After three nominations announced at the beginning of June for the Deutscher Fernsehpreis, the second season was awarded on Wednesday the prize for the Best Picture / Camera for cinematographer Ngo The Chau, in the fiction category. 

Directed by Christian Zübert and written by Oliver Kienle with the conceptual collaboration of Jana Burbach, Jan Galli, Ron Markus (co-author of episode 4) and Wolf-Alexis Puttfarken, based on an original idea by Lisa Blumenberg, Bad Banks is a production of Letterbox Filmproduktion (Lisa Blumenberg, Germany) and Iris Productions (Nicolas Steil, Luxembourg) in co-production with Real Film Berlin and ZDF and in collaboration with Arte.

Bad Banks has received support from the Film Fund Luxembourg, the German Motion Picture Fund, the HessenFilm und Medien and the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, as well as Creative Europe Media. As was the case for the first season, Federation Entertainment handles international sales of the series.
Season 2 includes recurring cast Paula Beer, Barry Atsma, Désirée Nosbusch, Albrecht Schuch, Mai Duong Kieu, Tobias Moretti, Jean-Marc Barr, Marc Limpach, Noah Saavedra, Trystan Pütter, Germain Wagner and Tedros Teclebrhan in the main roles. Several Luxembourgish actors appear in this new season, including Elisabeth Johannesdottir, Claude De Demo, Raoul Schlechter, Fabienne Hollwege, Pascale Noe Adam, Julian Nest and Elsa Rauchs.

Bad Banks Season 2 was broadcast in February 2020 on Arte, ZDF and RTL and is also available in streaming and catch-up TV.