Stage 5; Credit: Skoda Tour de Luxembourg via Facebook

Swiss professional road racing cyclist Marc Hirschi has won the Škoda Tour de Luxembourg 2023.

This year's race brought together some 120 riders from 20 international teams to cover over 700 kilometres across the Grand Duchy, from Wednesday 20 to Sunday 24 September 2023.

Marc Hirschi, who currently rides for UCI WorldTeam UAE Team Emirates, took the overall leader's yellow jersey after the stage four time trial (won by Lotto Dstny's Victor Campenaerts) in Pétange on Saturday 23 September 2023.

He managed to defend his overall position despite Tobias Halland Johannessen (Uno-X Pro Cycling Team) winning the final stage on Sunday 24 September 2023.

The fifth and final stage of this year's Škoda Tour de Luxembourg took riders from Mersch to the "Pabeierbierg" (Rue Albert Unden) in Luxembourg-Limpertsberg (177.2 km). Danish cyclist Tobias Halland Johannessen emerged victorious after launching a successful attack on the hilly Pabeierbierg. He was among a small breakaway group in the final kilometres, going on to create enough distance from them to cross the finish line first, in 04:07:25.

Bob Jungels secured the best spot among Luxembourgish riders in 11th place.

In the general classification, however, Marc Hirschi (24th in the final stage) remained the overall winner. He also retained the whote jersey for best young rider, whilst Luxembourg's Mats Wenzel (Leopard TOGT Pro Cycling) held onto the black jersey for best climber.

Stage five winner Tobias Halland Johannessen placed 14th in the general classification.

In 11th place overall, Arthur Kluckers secured the best general ranking among Luxembourgish riders.

Stage 5 results

1. Tobias Halland Johannessen (Denmark; Uno-X Pro Cycling Team), 04:07:25
2. Alex Aranburu Deba (Spain; Movistar Team), 04:07:33 (+08 gap)
3. Franck Bonnamour (France; AG2R Citroën Team), 04:07:33 (+08)
4. Valentin Madouas (France; Groupama-FDJ), 04:07:33 (+08)
5. Mauri Vansevenant (Belgium; Soudal Quick-Step), 04:07:33 (+08)
11. Bob Jungels (Luxembourg; Bora-Hansgrohe), 04:07:39 (+14)

General classification

1. Marc Hirschi (Switzerland; UAE Team Emirates), 17:15:11
2. Brandon McNulty (USA; UAE Team Emirates), 17:15:14 (+03)
3. Ben Healy (Ireland; EF Education-EasyPost), 17:15:16 (+05)
4. Ilan Van Wilder (Belgium; Soudal Quick-Step), 17:15:45 (+34)
5. Diego Ulissi (Italy; UAE Team Emirates), 17:15:46 (+35)
11. Arthur Kluckers (Luxembourg; Tudor Pro Cycling Team), 17:16:09 (+58)