l'Hôtel de Ville de Luxembourg; Credit: Kangkan Halder

On Wednesday 13 July 2022, on the occasion of the 70th anniversary of the first meeting of the High Authority of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), the College of European Commissioners will hold, at the invitation of the Luxembourg government, its weekly meeting  at the Luxembourg-Ville Hall.

It was in the municipal council chambre, that the High Authority of the ECSC, the executive body of this first European community, held its first meeting on 10 August 1952. It is important to the government and the City of Luxembourg to celebrate the start of this work in Luxembourg, which has made the city the historic capital of the European institutions.

The President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, and the College of Commissioners will be welcomed at the Hôtel de Ville by the Prime Minister, Minister of State, Xavier Bettel, and the Mayor of the City of Luxembourg, Lydie Polfer, in the presence of members of the college of aldermen.

At the end of the meeting of the College of Commissioners, a commemorative plaque will be unveiled by President von der Leyen, in the presence of the Prime Minister, Minister of State, Xavier Bettel, the Minister for Foreign Affairs and European Unions, Jean Asselborn, and the mayor of the City of Luxembourg, Lydie Polfer. President von der Leyen will then sign the City of Luxembourg's guestbook and visit an exhibition of photos from the period presented on this occasion by the City of Luxembourg.

The meeting will be followed by a working lunch organised by the government.

The College of Commissioners will also be received in audience by His Royal Highness the Grand Duke at the Grand Ducal Palace.