The European Commission has called on nineteen European Union (EU) Member States, including Luxembourg, to comply with EU rules on open data and the reuse of public sector information.

On Thursday, the Commission announced its decision to open infringement proceedings as part of the regular review of transposition by sending a letter of formal notice to Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Spain, Estonia, Croatia, Ireland, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Luxembourg, Hungary, the Netherlands, Austria, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden. According to the Commission, the authorities of these Member States have failed to provide complete information on how the revised EU rules on open data and the reuse of public sector information (Directive (EU) 2019/1024) are being transposed in their national laws.

The directive on open data and the reuse of public sector information, adopted on 20 June 2019, aims to unlock the benefits of data and help to make more of the vast pool of data resources produced by public bodies available for reuse. The directive is also expected to stimulate the development of innovative solutions such as mobility applications, increase transparency by opening the access to publicly funded research data and support new technologies, including artificial intelligence (AI).

Member States were required to transpose this directive into national law and notify transposition measures to the Commission by 17 July 2021. The above-mentioned Member States now have two months to respond to the letters and take the necessary measures. In the absence of a satisfactory response, the Commission may decide to issue reasoned opinions.