Final Round Participants; Credit: Alex Benoy

At this year’s Luxembourg Curling Championships, held at the Kockelscheuer ice rink on Sunday 12 November, each team won one match and lost one, with Team Benoy proving victorious in the end.

In the first match of the day, Team Benoy proved victorious 7-3 over Team Etienne. This was followed by a 7-5 victory to Team Kelly against Team Benoy and a 6-4 victory for Team Etienne against Team Kelly.

A draw shot challenge, much like a football penalty, had to be played, where two players had to play one stone to the button. The closest of the total of the two shots was declared zinner.

In the end, the overall winner of the Coupe de Luxembourg was Team Benoy (Alex Benoy, Marc Husi and Aude Villeneuve) with 81cm, followed by runner-up Team Etienne (Marco Etienne, Karen Wauters, Donald Villeneuve) with 128 cm and finally, bronze went to Team Kelly (Dan Kelly, Claude Schweitzer, Aljaz Pengov) with 262.6cm.